© Badisches Staatstheater Karlsruhe, Siegfried 2019


News from New York
WSNY announces the recipients of its annual awards and grants, along with its congratulations to director Yuval Sharon on receiving a "genius grant".
Annual Society Awards and Grants to Promising Wagner Singers

As a result of its annual auditions, the WSNY is pleased to announce this year’s recipients. They (and all recipients since 2011) are listed on the WSNY website/Singers Awards.

The awards are funded by the Society’s endowment funds and grants are funded by member contributions.

Nota bene: Stephen Gould, an internationally praised heldentenor, was the recipient of a Society grant some years ago. 

Suzanne Hendrix, mezzo - Robert Lauch Award in the amount of $6,000
David Leigh, bass - Ursula Springer Award in the amount of $3,000
Carami Hilaire, soprano - $2,000 encouragement grant
Emma McDermott, soprano - $1,000 encouragement grant
Amy Shoremount-Obra, soprano - $1,000 special one time grant 
Brooke Dircks, soprano - $1,000 encouragement grant
Jessine Johnson, soprano - $1,000 encouragement grant 
Stephen Carroll, tenor  - $1,000 encouragement grant

Congratulations to Yuval Sharon

Photo Katerina Goode

The Wagner Society of New York congratulates Yuval Sharon, who was named a MacArthur Fellow in October as a recipient of a “genius grant” from the MacArthur Foundation, with 23 others in the arts, humanities, and sciences. The award comes with a no-strings-attached $625,000 purse. The first American director in the history of the Bayreuth Festival, he will direct the new production of Lohengrin in 2018. His first visit to Bayreuth was as a member of the WSNY in 2006 while living in New York.