© Bayreuther Festspiele, Lohengrin, 2018

Unsere Mitgliederverbände

Richard Wagner Selskabet, København
Hegelsvej 28
2920 Charlottenlund
Fon: +45 31722167
The Richard Wagner Society (Richard Wagner Selskabet) based in Copenhagen was founded on Monday the 10th of October, 1994.

Presidents till now:
1994 - 2005 Mr. Mogens Bang †, founder, 1st President, Member of the RWVI Presidium 
2005 - 2009 Mr. Leif Nielsen †, 2nd President
2009 - present Mr. Finn Elkjær, 3rd President, Member of the RWVI Presidium

Honoary members:
Mr. Francesco Cristofoli †
Mr. Aage Hauland †
Mrs. Lisbeth Balslev
Mr. Poul Elming
Mr. Mogens Bang †
Mr. Stig Fogh Andersen
Mrs. Tina Kiberg

In 2003 the Society hosted the International Richard Wagner Congress in Copenhagen. Patron of the congress was His Royal Highness Prince Henrik of Denmark. Her Majesty Queen Margrethe II of Denmark, His Royal Highness Prince Henrik of Denmark, Dr. Wolfgang Wagner, Dr. and Kammersängering Birgit Nilsson, Operasinger Poul Elming Knight of the Order of Dannebrog and many others attended the congress.

In 2004 the Society celebrated its 10 years Jubilee with a galla diner with a Wagner music programme.

In 2014 the Society celebrated its 20 years Jubilee with a galla diner with a Wagner music intermezzo.

In 2019 the Society celebrated its 25 years Jubilee with a galla Wagner concert and a galla diner.

In 2024 the Society plans its 30 years Jubilee celebration.

Every year the Society is organizing approx. eight events with regard to Wagner and his music.

History tells us that already on Monday the 10th of September 1911 The Danish Richard Wagner Society (Den Danske Richard Wagner-Forening) was founded. Patron was Her Majesty Queen Alexandrine of Denmark. She and her son (later) His Majesty King Frederik IX of Denmark often attended the Society's events then. By the way during 30 years he regularly conducted the Danish Radio Symphony Orchestra - often with works of Richard Wagner. 

This first Wagner Society formally ended its activities at the beginning of the second world war.


Finn Elkjær